Madness of My Brother

schizophrenia-symptoms-consultants

Hey fellow bloggers! I’m sorry I haven’t been able to publish my stories for a long time. But what can I do? I was truly depressed and wasn’t thinking much about plots. Now I’m back again. Yet, this time it’s not a story, but real-life incident that I am writing. It is rather serious and I need to tell you about it. So, here goes:

Today I didn’t go to school because it was raining cats and dogs and I wasn’t feeling well. At precisely 10 AM, I was sitting on my bed, studying history. My exams are coming near, so I was trying to concentrate. There was no one at home other than my elder brother Rick and myself. But before I could start reading ‘the comparison between Gupta Empire and Roman Empire’, there was furious knocking at my bedroom door. I usually study with my door locked. So I got up and opened the door before Rick could knock it down. He ferociously strode inside, pushing me aside.

‘You!’ he screamed, looking at me. His sizzling brown eyes bored into mine and I stepped backwards. What was he accusing me of this time? He looked furious with rage. His teeth were gritted, nostrils were flaring and his chest was rising and falling with each intake and outbreath. MY heart starting throbbing loudly and I felt tightness in my stomach. What was it this time?

‘Did you tell Tina that I’m schizophrenic?’ His voice almost shook me while his eyes were trying to screen me.

I was almost whimpering and my hands and feet were cold. I wanted to answer before he could shout again, but my throat had gone dry.

‘N…no…’ I uttered in a hardly audible voice.

‘You are lying.’ He shrieked in an awful voice. Without any hesitation, he came near me and grabbed me by my shoulders with both hands. ‘She told me so herself. Why would you lie like that? Why would you do this to me?’

He shook hard me while spitting on my face. With each shake, my world was in whirls with his face in focus. My brain had I lot of answers prepared, but I couldn’t say them out of fear. I knew he could get violent if I told the truth. There was a list of things I wanted to scream at my mad brother.

The List:

  • He actually is
  • I hadn’t told Tina anything like that because mom had forbidden me from talking to his friends.
  • The conversation with Tina must have been another of his hallucinations.
  • My shoulders had gone numb and my head would fall off anytime.

But I couldn’t say any of these. Schizophrenics have an impaired sense of this illness affecting them. And my brother doesn’t have that sense, not even an impaired one. He lacks the insight into his own mental state. I knew if I said any of these, he would freak out some more. So I just endured the shaking silently.

‘Will you answer me? What have you got against me?’ He asked, shaking me harder.

‘I didn’t, she must be lying.’ I managed a reply. I felt bad from blaming it on Tina, but I couldn’t take the harsh treatment anymore. Rick has beastly strength and I knew if I couldn’t manage to take away his attention from me, he would crush me with his bare arms.

For a few moments he looked at me with bewilderment and the grip on my shoulders loosened a bit. He didn’t say anything, but the look in his eyes and slight part of his thin lips told me that he believed me. He slowly let go of my shoulders and stepped back. He looked down and mumbled something under his breath. Then, like he had got in, strode out of the room without saying a word of apology.

I sighed in relief and sat on my bed. My shoulders were starting to regain their ability to feel and there was a sensation, as if numerous pins were attacking them. I gulped and rubbed the sweat off my brow.

Now I am here, blogging about this because I don’t know where Rick is now. I am telling you this because I’m concerned about Rick. But I’m more worried about Tina. I don’t know what my brother will do to her; or already has done. I can’t call my brother and ask where he is or what he is doing. He is a great liar. He will tell me that he is at work and has been in his office all morning. I can’t call my parents to tell them about this because they won’t believe me. They will keep telling me that my brother is completely sane, is working in his office right now and the conversation with my brother (the shaking and shouting on his part) was nothing but another of my hallucinations. They will also try to persuade me into going to the psychiatrist again. But I hate her. Last time she told me I was schizophrenic.

You know, something shocking happened. I called my brother’s office so that they could tell me he wasn’t there. That’s how I would get the evidence of my brother’s mental disorder. But you know what they said? They said he was there all morning and they even made me talk to him…….

72 Comments Add yours

  1. magarisa says:

    What an difficult situation to be in! Don’t know what to say.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Just asking, did you get the end of the story?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. magarisa says:

        Which story? The one of my dream?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. No, this one. If you didn’t, read my reply to the cwhiteweb’s comment

        Liked by 1 person

      3. magarisa says:

        Just read the other comments. Really? You’re the one with schizophrenia?

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Yes…. Why is no one getting it? And well, it’s a story, not reality…

        Liked by 1 person

      5. magarisa says:

        Hmm … not sure why.

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Any suggestions on how I should make it clear?

        Liked by 1 person

      7. magarisa says:

        Maybe you can add a part at the end about one of your parents calling Rick at the office. This would show that he really is there, and that your parents are right about him being sane.

        Liked by 1 person

      8. Right! Thanks 😃

        Liked by 1 person

      9. magarisa says:

        You are most welcome. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      10. Took your suggestion and modified it a bit. Is the story clear now?

        Liked by 1 person

      11. magarisa says:

        Wow, that was quick! Yes, it’s clear now.

        Liked by 1 person

      12. Thanks again 😃

        Liked by 1 person

  2. cwhiteweb says:

    Wow! That’s so intense!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Just tell me, I’m concerned, did you get the twist?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. cwhiteweb says:

        Yeah! Quite messed up actually! Your parents don’t believe Rick has schizophrenia but they think you do?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It is actually me. I’m the one who is schizophrenic. Being the one with schizophrenic, I don’t believe that I have it. Instead, I just hallucinated my sane brother

        Liked by 1 person

      3. cwhiteweb says:

        Hahaha oh my! How did I miss that! 😅
        So well written! Applause 👏🏽

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Thanks a lot 😃😃

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Kaycee says:

        Wow that’s really Good I didn’t get the story actually. I just got it now as I read your comments. Nice!!

        Liked by 1 person

    2. By the way, thanks 😃

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow just unbelieveble one mind twister filled with so many twists.❤❤❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. you have fairly good knowledge in psychology….I am unable to believe that you are just a teenager student

    Liked by 1 person

  5. robertcday says:

    That is freakishly good! I’m not even going to ask where you get all that detail from – I’m going to assume that you researched it on the internet. Because if I didn’t assume this was ‘just a story’ I would have to believe that the realistic sounding experiences you described were real and then conclude that …
    Hold on a sec – the nurse says that it’s time for my meds.
    I hate taking them – they stop me from thinking. From remembering.
    Now where was I …

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s how the story came to me actually…. I first heard of the desease

      Liked by 1 person

      1. robertcday says:

        You do know how talented you are at writing, yes?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks. But this takes a lot of effort. You know that since you write good stuff

        Liked by 1 person

      3. robertcday says:

        It takes sustained finger movement, I’ll give you that. As for the rest – I mostly let it flow out of me without bothering it too much. Sometimes it’s a race to get it out before the image fades – you know what I mean?

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I know exactly what you mean. I have a diary where I write down this stuff. But it takes an effort to post what the readers will like. If I were to post everything that flowed out of me…….

        Liked by 1 person

      5. robertcday says:

        Ha – that’s all I do! 🙂
        This is my diary (journal).

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Wow, seriously, amazing….. You don’t write shit in your diary!

        Liked by 1 person

      7. robertcday says:

        Well, that’s not technically true. I did write about The Queen having a sh*t just last night! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      8. I’ll post a picture of the scribbles in my diary one day. Then you will know shit

        Liked by 1 person

      9. robertcday says:

        Hahaha – I’m looking forward to it. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      10. Please don’t unfollow me after that

        Liked by 1 person

      11. robertcday says:

        I wouldn’t un-follow you for something like that. Sharing is caring.

        Liked by 1 person

      12. We’ll see….. I’ll see

        Liked by 1 person

      13. robertcday says:

        True that. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    2. That’s how the story came to me actually…. I first heard of the disease from a friend of mine. Her classmate used to take sleeping pills and was suicidal. I thought it was about depression, but then Wikipedia told me more…. And I thought up the plot….
      The plot to blog about this and make you people think it’s a story…..
      Now I have to go, I have an appointment with a psychiatrist… Bye!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. robertcday says:

        (apart from when you click ‘send’ too soon)
        I tell you the truth – this one gripped me. It raises up the emotions in the reader and keeps them held tight right through to the end.
        Psychiatrist? Maybe I’ll see you there in the waiting room. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. No, you won’t, I know. You said you would meet me down the manhole with pizza. But you didn’t and I still haven’t forgiven you for that.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. robertcday says:

        I’ve sent Freud over with a written apology.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. That doesn’t make any difference…. You kept me waiting with Chinese in hand

        Liked by 1 person

      5. robertcday says:

        I don’t know about the Chinese tasted but the pizza was YUM! I ate it when I got back. Some part of me thinks it was a pity I took a wrong turn down there and got lost, but the rest of me was just enjoying the moment, and the heavenly taste of pizza! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      6. I doubt you even tried to go down the manhole….. The Chinese was amazing!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      7. robertcday says:

        Well then there you go – all’s well that ends well. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      8. Didn’t end well. The water made me wet…. I went home with a fever

        Liked by 2 people

      9. robertcday says:

        Oh yes – I remember – you had a cold that you gave to your mom.

        Liked by 1 person

      10. No, I didn’t give it to her. It’s her pressure, heart and medicines that gets her weak and she ends up with a fever. And it’s always sudden and extreme…

        Liked by 1 person

      11. robertcday says:

        Ah, I understand. That must be terrifying, For both of you.

        Liked by 1 person

      12. Not for her. She is brave. For me, I just try to stay away, I have told you why…

        Liked by 1 person

      13. robertcday says:

        Yes. I understand. She is probably being brave for you. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      14. For my sister and father. They wear their hearts on their sleeves. I just look angry and frustrated as always

        Liked by 1 person

      15. robertcday says:

        Them too. For all of you. It’s called love. 😉

        Like

  6. Kaycee says:

    Did you get the point of my story!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think that it is something like you can’t have everything together and in the end, it doesn’t even matter. Correct me if I’m wrong

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Kaycee says:

        Lol don’t know myself. It was with sleepy eyes that I used in writing the story.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. But it was good

        Like

      3. Kaycee says:

        And thanks for the interpretation. I was really confused about my story.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. You know, you don’t always have to get a point in the story yourself. It’s about how the readers think in different ways about it

        Liked by 1 person

  7. You watching Nolan movies??so many twists…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No, still didn’t. No WiFi still…. Asked dad. He said he’ll see later

      Like

Leave a Reply

